Basic IPv6 Training

Quite good entry level training material for IPv6 stuff:

Part 1: Basics of IPv6 Addressing

Part 2: Types of IPv6 Addresses

Part 3: IPv6 Subnetting

Part 4: IPv4/IPv4 Transition Technologies

 Addresses types summary:

Unicast Global = Public Address – will always begin with either a hexadecimal value of 2 (0010) or a hexadecimal value of 3 (0011). The IPv6 address of 2001::1 is an example of a global unicast address.

Unicast Local = Private Address –¬† The first seven bits of a ULA are always 1111110, which means the eighth bit can be either a 0 or a 1. Therefore, a ULA will always begin with the hexadecimal values of either FC (11111100) or FD (11111101). The IPv6 address of FC01::1 is an example of a ULA.

Link-local Unicast Address = Automatic Private IP Address – The first eight bits of a link-local address are always 11111110, which is the binary equivalent of the hexadecimal value of FE. The next four bits can be any binary value in the range from 1000 through 1011. Thus a link-local address will always begin with one of the following values: FE8 (111111101000), FE9 (111111101001), FEA (111111101010), or FEB (111111101011).

Multicast Address – Always starts with FF

Loopback address – ::1